Sean J
Sean J
Travis Smith's Guide to Song Writing: Appreciate Music, Set the Creative Table, and Capture the Lightning in a Bottle (plus: live performance from his debut album - Wildness)
0:00
-1:08:12

Travis Smith's Guide to Song Writing: Appreciate Music, Set the Creative Table, and Capture the Lightning in a Bottle (plus: live performance from his debut album - Wildness)

Are you a music lover?

If you’re a music lover, share this interview with your music loving friends.

Share

For smooth listening:

Open in your browser or listen in podcast app (subscribers-only).

You’ll magically see a “Listen in podcast app” link when you type in your email. 

Note: Listening may be choppy in apps like Instagram, etc.

Another note: Listening may be smoothest after pouring yourself a bourbon.

About the Episode

Hey guys, welcome back to Adapt.  This podcast, along with my newsletter, documents my pursuit of new talents - from music to cooking to workouts and a whole bunch more.

In this episode, I sit down with singer/songer Travis Smith to talk about the song writing process and the making of his debut album, Wildness.

We cover a lot of ground, from his musical upbringing to a live performance of his single, Try, and an in-depth breakdown of how he wrote it - from guitar riffs to full lyrics.

Before we dive in, a couple things to keep in mind: 

  1. I hope this episode will peel back the curtain a bit on all the work that goes into your favorite music, and give you what you need to have an even greater appreciation of the music you listen to

  2. If music and song writing is something you’re interested in, I hope this interview will make those pursuits feel more approachable, and give you a structure to get started

  3. I would recommend applying a lot of Travis’ song writing tips to your other creative pursuits.  At it’s core, this is really about doing your best creative work

After this episode, I would highly recommend pouring yourself a bourbon, finding Travis’ album Wildness on Spotify or Apple Music, and listening to it front to back, with no interruptions or distractions.

Without further ado, please enjoy this whiskey filled conversation with singer/song writer, Travis Smith.

Listen to Wildness on Spotify

Listen to Wildness on Apple Music

Lyrics to “Try”

There’s a dark moon hanging over my head tonight

Its pulling the tides, its blinding my eyes

and I can’t sleep

at least not well

And these thoughts they bleed

between the bad bad dreams of you

and the talk we had this afternoon

well I just want to rest 

but this is still so fresh

I don't want to leave your side

No, I like to stay here my whole life

I think I’ll live forever, baby

I think I’m too scared to die

But I've seen people jump ship just as the sun starts to rise

Lord, I wish we tried

Remind myself that I been here before

and why I've locked those doors

and why I never go there anymore

Some nights the drinking helps

Others doesn't do the trick

And that path it crosses with some bad bad roads

think of holding hands and romantic poems

and well, I think I’d rather feel alone than be feeling like this

I don’t want to leave your side

No, I like to stay here my whole life

I think I’ll live forever, baby

I think I’m too scared to die

But I've seen people jump ship just as the sun starts to rise

Lord, I wish we tried

So I'll just sit here and watch you clear the floor

watch you, pack up your things

watch you, walk on the door

watch you walk away from everything 

And I don’t understand anymore

I don’t want to leave your side

No, I like to stay here my whole life

I think I’ll live forever, baby

I think I’m too scared to die

But I've seen people jump ship just as the sun starts to rise

Lord, I wish we tried

0 Comments
Sean J
Sean J
Interviews & essays on entrepreneurship, outdoors, health & fitness, lifestyle design and cooking.